Latest review of "A Sorcerer's Onus..." by Marc Secchia!

02/10/2015 17:16

Gods and mortals. Nefarious deeds, treachery most foul and numberless creative ways to die. A sprawling canvas. Magic sizzling on every page. These are the raw elements of fantasy at its most epic, delivered here in a humourous, page-turning package that had me chuckling my way through. I like to rate stories on entertainment value, and this was 5 stars all the way.

Makennan Novantumus is a sorcerer of integrity, bound in service to his goddess but forced to partner with characters ranging from shady to lethal, from faithful to turncoat, in a world where little is as it seems and treachery is just a teleport - or a meddling god or demon - away. I was a little dubious about a book with such a mouthful for a title, but I have to say, the delivery blew me away. The author plays magic as much as words, and has no qualms about subjecting his characters to situations and fates ranging from brutal to hilarious.

That's not to say the story is perfect. Sometimes it felt as though the storytelling became mired in its own cleverness, and the editing was not as sound as it could have been. However for sheer pizzazz and clever plot twists all the way through, it kept my attention and my stomach is sore from laughing. Top class entertainment, and highly recommended.